A Voice For the Voiceless


The Advocacy Project (AP) recruits students to help marginalized communities tell their story and claim their rights.

My RSS Feed

Twitter: #apfellows

Walking to the airport

Zach Parker | PostedJuly 14th, 2009 | Latin America

I managed to get to Cuzco again, but this time it wasn’t with EPAF.  Last week my parents paid a visit to Peru, and we spent a couple days in Cuzco.  It was my second time to visit the city since I arrived in Peru.  This time I got to see more of the city and explore.  I also visited Machu Picchu for the second time, and it happened to be on the second anniversary of it becoming an official member of the “seven wonders of the world.”  They had a big ceremony before the sun rose over the mountains, with the local Peruvians in traditional dress conducting the proceedings.   We probably wouldn’t have seen the sunrise or the ceremony were it not for the insistence of the two Peruvian guys that we had met the night before, who accompanied us on our tour of Machu Picchu at 5 in the morning.  They were both electricians and had very interesting jobs.  They decided to take the tour in English with us to get some practice.  One of them lived in Zambia for a mining company, which we thought was a great coincidence, because while I lived in Malawi a few years ago, I had visited the city where he was living in the north of Zambia.  The other was an electrician for a cruise line and traveled for ten months out of the year.   We thought they were very interesting guys. 

On the day that we were leaving Cuzco, there was a national transportation strike, and Cuzco was no exception.  Luckily the airport wasn’t too far from our hostel in the center of town, because we walked more than half of the way to the Cuzco airport with our luggage!  The strike included taxis too, and only a few taxis braved the protest marches.  Many of the taxis that did were the recipients of a showering of stones thrown at them by the protesters.  This happened a few times right in front of us, and needless to say, we didn’t get into a taxi.  We pretended to have no interest in taxis as we continued to walk to the airport.  Eventually, after we got further away from the center of town, we tried our luck with a taxi and arrived safely at the airport.        

Things have been relatively slow at EPAF this past week or so.  However, tonight several of the people from EPAF are heading to an event in Lima in memory of the “La Cantuta” massacre.  In 1992, under the presidency of Alberto Fujimori, nine students and a professor of La Cantuta University were abducted by a military death squad and never returned.  Tonight there will be some speakers and an art exhibit on display, to remember the victims and their families.  Jess and I will attend.   The case of “La Cantuta” was recently ratified, reinforcing the prison sentences of those responsible for the massacre. 

To follow EPAF on twitter, please use this link (http://twitter.com/epafperu).  We hope to update it in both English and Spanish.   Our website is also in transition.  For a more up to date version of our website, you can follow this link (http://www.epafperu.org/wordpress).  We will be putting it on the main site shortly (http://www.epafperu.org).

One Response to “Walking to the airport”

  1. tina chen says:

    walked halfway to the airport in the middle of a transporation strike! wow, did you take pictures?? glad you finally got into one safely!
    I never heard of the “La Cantuta” massacre…will look into it!

Leave a Reply

Security Code:

Fellow: Zach Parker

EPAF in Peru





2013 Fellows


Benan Grams
Meron Menwyelet
Mohammed Alshubrumi
John Steies


Andra Bosneag
Chris Pinderhughes
Emily MacDonald
Jasveen Bindra
Kelly Howell
Raymond Aycock
Sujita Basnet

Middle East

Mona Niebuhr

2012 Fellows


Dane Macri
Laura McAdams
Mallory Minter
Megan Orr
Oluwatooni Akanni
Katie Hoffman


Adam Kruse
Alex Kelly
Alicia Evangelides
Heather Webb
Jesse Cottrell
Matthew Becker
Rachel Palmer


Claire Noone
Elise Filo

Latin America

Laura Burns

Middle East

Nur Arafeh
Thayer Hastings

North America

Caroline Risacher

2011 Fellows


Charlie Walker
Charlotte Bourdillon
Cleia Noia
Dina Buck
Jamyel Jenifer
Kristen Maryn
Rebecca Scherpelz
Scarlett Chidgey
Walter James


Amanda Lasik
Chantal Uwizera
Chelsea Ament
Clara Kollm
Corey Black
Lauren Katz
Maelanny Purwaningrum
Maria Skouras
Meredith Williams
Ryan McGovern
Samantha Syverson


Beth Wofford
Julia Dowling
Quinn Van Valer-Campbell
Samantha Hammer
Susan Craig-Greene

Latin America

Amy Bracken
Catherine Binet

Middle East

Nikki Hodgson

North America

Sarah Wang

2010 Fellows


Abisola Adekoya
Annika Allman
Brooke Blanchard
Christine Carlson
Christy Gillmore
Dara Lipton
Dina Buck
Josanna Lewin
Joya Taft-Dick
Louis Rezac
Ned Meerdink
Sylvie Bisangwa


Adrienne Henck
Karie Cross
Kerry McBroom
Kate Bollinger
Lauren Katz
Simon Kläntschi
Zarin Hamid


Laila Zulkaphil
Susan Craig-Greene
Tereza Bottman

Latin America

Karin Orr

North America

Adepeju Solarin
Oscar Alvarado

2009 Fellows


Adam Welti
Alixa Sharkey
Barbara Dziedzic
Bryan Lupton

Courtney Chance
Elisa Garcia
Helah Robinson
Johanna Paillet
Johanna Wilkie
Kate Cummings
Laura Gordon
Lisa Rogoff
Luna Liu
Ned Meerdink
Walter James


Abhilash Medhi
Gretchen Murphy
Isha Mehmood
Jacqui Kotyk
Jessica Tirado
Kan Yan
Morgan St. Clair
Ted Mathys


Alison Sluiter
Christina Hooson
Donna Harati
Fanny Grandchamp
Kelsey Bristow
Simran Sachdev
Susan Craig-Greene
Tiffany Ommundsen

Latin America

Althea Middleton-Detzner
Carolyn Ramsdell
Jessica Varat
Lindsey Crifasi
Rebecca Gerome
Zachary Parker

Middle East

Corrine Schneider
Rachel Brown
Rangineh Azimzadeh

North America

Elizabeth Mandelman
Farzin Farzad

2008 Fellows

Adam Nord
Annelieke van de Wiel
Juliet Hutchings
Kristina Rosinsky
Lucas Wolf
Chi Vu
Danita Topcagic
Heather Gilberds
Jes Therkelsen
Libby Abbott
Mackenzie Berg
Nicole Farkouh
Ola Duru
Paul Colombini
Raka Banerjee
Shubha Bala
Antigona Kukaj
Colby Pacheco
James Dasinger
Janet Rabin
Nicole Slezak
Shweta Dewan
Amy Offner
Ash Kosiewicz
Hannah McKeeth
Heidi McKinnon
Larissa Hotra
Hannah Wright
Krystal Sirman
Rianne Van Doeveren
Willow Heske

2007 Fellows

Johnathan Homer
Adam Nord
Audrey Roberts
Caitlin Burnett
Devin Greenleaf
Jeff Yarborough
Julia Zoo
Madeline England
Maha Khan
Mariko Scavone
Mark Koenig
Nicole Farkouh
Saba Haq
Tassos Coulaloglou
Ted Samuel
Alison Morse
Gail Morgado
Jennifer Hollinger
Katie Wroblewski
Leslie Ibeanusi
Michelle Lanspa
Stephanie Gilbert
Zach Scott
Abby Weil
Jessica Boccardo
Sara Zampierin
Eliza Bates
Erin Wroblewski
Tatsiana Hulko

2006 Interns

Laura Cardinal
Jessical Sewall
Alison Long
Autumn Graham
Donna Laverdiere
Erica Issac
Greg Holyfield
Lori Tomoe Mizuno
Melissa Muscio
Nicole Cordeau
Stacey Spivey
Anya Gorovets
Barbara Bearden
Lynne Engleman
Yvette Barnes
Charles Wright
Sarah Sachs

2005 Interns

Eun Ha Kim
Malia Mason
Anne Finnan
Carrie Hasselback
Karen Adler
Sarosh Syed
Shirin Sahani
Chiara Zerunian
Ewa Sobczynska
MacKenzie Frady
Margaret Swink
Sabri Ben-Achour
Nitzan Goldberger

2004 Interns

Ginny Barahona
Michael Keller
Sarah Schores
Melinda Willis
Pia Schneider
Stacy Kosko
Carmen Morcos
Christina Fetterhoff
Stacy Kosko
Bushra Mukbil

2003 Interns

Erica Williams
Kate Kuo
Claudia Zambra
Julie Lee
Kimberly Birdsall
Marta Schaaf
Caitlin Williams
Courtney Radsch